Increase Your Success and Income: Upgrade your Peer Group

It’s true. Making the right friends has a direct correlation on your income in life. This may sound like common sense, but consider the following statement:

If you take your five closest friends, and average their income, you will find that your income is very close to theirs

Harvard and Princeton have both done studies that prove this statement. That begs the question: Can I increase my income by just changing who I spend time with? The answer is a resounding YES!

I’m not saying drop friends just because they are not making a lot of money. There are a ton of jerks making a lot of money who I would never want to hang around, and a lot of great people who are not financial wizards. However, I do believe that it makes sense to associate with people who are successful and positive as a rule.

Look at your peer group. Are they committed to progress and growth, or are they in the same rut they were when they graduated from high-school 15 years ago? Are they people who are achievers and positive about life, or do they constantly find reasons why things can’t work, or drag you down, or tell you why you can’t do things? To hell with people like that.

These people are like crabs in a bucket. If you ever put a bunch of crabs in a bucket and watch them, you will see an interesting phenomenon. If the crabs would work together, they could all get out of the box. But what happens is that as soon as one crab starts making it out of the box, the other crabs will grab him and pull him back down. The vast majority of people live this kind of existence, and want to hold others back. Avoid these people like the plague. Life is too short to spend time with people who drag you down, and impose their own limiting-beliefs and baggage on you. Set yourself free from people like this right away.

A big part of my success has been to be very selective with whom I spend my time, and I would suggest you do the same. My success has soared thru the stratosphere as soon as I realized this principle, and began to surround myself with the right-minded people who have proven to be successful in life.

Have you seen either positive or negative experiences by using the principles above? I’d love to hear your experiences, expecially POSITIVE experiences.

One response to “Increase Your Success and Income: Upgrade your Peer Group

  1. Hey Jason,

    I heard another shorter version of what you are saying here. That is “show me your friends and I will show you your future”. It’s gotta nice catch to it.

    Paul

Leave a Reply

